Skip To Main Content

CCSD Congratulates Minecraft Challenge Winners

CCSD Congratulates Minecraft Challenge Winners

The Cherokee County School District congratulates the winners of its fifth Minecraft Student Build Challenge!
The contest, presented by the Office of Technology & Information Services, gives students across the district the opportunity to demonstrate their technology skills and creativity.  This year’s challenge was to build the setting of their favorite story in the Minecraft: Education Edition computer program. 
One hundred and forty-eight designs were entered, with entries by individual students as well as by student teams representing 298 students.  Winners were named in four categories: kindergarten to grade 2 and grades 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12.

“Congratulations to our winners for demonstrating their excellent technology skills while celebrating their favorite books – what a great combination,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Thank you to our teachers and Technology division for offering this innovative opportunity for our students.  We want every student to graduate future ready, and technology skills like those honed through this experience help prepare them for that success.”

Congratulations to the overall winners:

Kindergarten to Grade 2
First Place: Dylan Ribaudo of Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy for “The Three Little Pigs”
Second Place: Hollis Sobolewski of Ball Ground ES STEM Academy for “The Magic Treehouse – Afternoon on the Amazon”
Third Place: Brooks Cavaretta of Sixes ES for “The Three Little Pigs”

Grades 3-5
First Place: Hudson Gillentine and Brando Bellini of Bascomb ES for “The Neverending Story”
Second Place: Azalee Felix, Hayla Penton, Addison Mobley and Sofia Davis of Ball Ground ES STEM Academy for “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets”
Third Place: Brody Gibbs and Victor Caputo of Sixes ES for “World of Warcraft” book series

Grades 6-8
First Place: Gavin Ondeck and Mujaahid Dauda of Dean Rusk MS for “The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank”
Second Place: Haley Reed, Leah Martin, Caroline Arriaga and Alysson Mariana of Dean Rusk MS for “Hansel and Gretel”
Third Place: Parker Bermudez, Daison Stallworth, Thomas Mahough and Nnamdi Odenigbo of Dean Rusk MS for “The Cabin in the Woods”

Grades 9-12
First Place: Wyatt Hirschy and Garett Trent of Creekview HS for “Harry Potter”
Second Place: John Camden Brookshire, Ty Joseph Castro, William Carter Merrit and Elijah Matthew Herbert          of Creekview HS for “Curious George”
Third Place: Katana Rose Tipton of Creekview HS for “The Outsiders”
#CCSDfam #CCSDstem